Conference Committee

The conference committee is made-up of experts and leaders on issues relating to the wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children and families. The committee provides high-level advice and direction on the conference. The SNAICC 2020-2021 conference committee includes:

Rachel Atkinson
Palm Island Community Company Limited (PICC)

Rachel Atkinson is a Yorta woman from Mooroopna, Victoria, who grew up at the Rumbalara Aboriginal Reserve. Rachel is the current CEO of Palm Island Community Company Limited (PICC) and splits her time between the mainland and the island.

Kathleen Pinkerton
Yorganop Association Incorporated

Kathleen is a proud Widi woman from the Yamatji Nation in Western Australia. She is a Chairperson of Yorganop Association Incorporated and a graduate of Edith Cowan University with a Bachelor of Social Science in Indigenous Services. Kathleen’s background includes having worked in child protection, early childhood and training sector where she developed extensive experience in facilitating, coordinating and delivering programs, particularly in rural and remote communities.

Sharron Williams
Aboriginal Family Support Services (AFSS)

Sharron Williams has served as the Chairperson on the SNAICC national executive since 1999. Sharron is a Narungga/Kaurna woman who has been the CEO of Aboriginal Family Support Services (AFSS), the peak Aboriginal child welfare organisation in South Australia, since 1997. The agency was formed in 1978 in response to Aboriginal children often being removed from their families and communities without the consent or even consultation with extended family members.

Sharron’s experience has included 15 years with Correctional Services in strategic and policy development positions, including as the first Indigenous Public Relations Officer within the Correctional Services system in SA. Sharron’s strengths are building strong relationships with government and industry on behalf of the community, based on respect and a strong commitment to protecting the rights of the Aboriginal community.

Key Dates

Now Open

Early Bird Registration Closes
2 July 2021